SCA header sca_header
SCA Photo Slideshow
Untitled Document
Annual Awards 2016

SCA Annual Presentation Night 2015-2016

The Southern Campdrafting Association held their Annual Presentations on the 27th of August at the Albury Commercial Club, where 113 Members, Family and Friends gathered for the 2015-2016 Annual Presentation Night.  The evening commenced with MC, SCA President Gina Lincoln, welcoming everyone. Gina also paid tribute to three retiring SCA Directors for their contributions to the SCA Board being Dennis Heywood for 28 years of service, Greg Hulm for 8 years of service and Ben Mooney 2 years and a warm welcome to two new Directors to the Board, Harold James and Robbie Cameron.

Members & Guest were also advised of the passing of two well know SCA personalities, former SCA Director Mr Gerald Ventry, Mr Ventry had served a total of 12 years on the Board in the 70’s and 80’s and Mr Stan Henwood, the Henwood family are long term Cattle donors to at least five Campdrafts in the Riverina area, they will be both sadly missed, we extend our sincere sympathy to their Family’s.

After a short break in proceedings whilst entrées were served, the Presentation of the Champion Horse Awards followed.

Pryde’s EasiFeed sponsored Champion Maiden Horse awards were presented by ; 1st place was ‘Encore’,  2nd  ‘Dynamo’ both owned by Glen & Chloe Coleman, 3rd ‘Acton Acres’ Dennis Heywood, 4th ‘Mobile Billabong’ Peter Eade, 5th ‘Faith’ Simon Dodwell and 6th was “Playing Around’ owned H & T James.

Riverina Saddlery Champion Novice Horse presented by Nick Taylor; 1st , 2nd & 3rd placing’s went to Glen & Chloe Coleman owned ‘Idle Eyes’, ‘Encore’ and ‘Dynamo’ respectively, 4th Ian Laurie ‘Dandy’, 5th West Family Partnership ‘Lena’ and 6th went to Matt & Chrissie French’s ‘Charm’.

Shanahans Livestock Transport Champion Open Horse awards were presented by Sidney Shanahan, 1st went to ‘Idle Eyes’ owned by Glen & Chloe Coleman, 2nd ‘Riley’ owned by Steven & James Clarke, 3rd ‘Zanzibar’ owned by Greg Charleson, 4th ‘Dulcie’ owner Ian Laurie, 5th was Simon Dodwells ‘Excel’ and in 6th place was Glen & Chloe Coleman’s ‘Encore’.
  Glen Coleman was also presented with the Barry Bourke Memorial Trophy.

Special Awards sponsored by the Australian Stock Horse Society for the Highest scoring registered ASH in the SCA Champion Maiden, Novice and Open Horse Section were won by ‘Yinbarun Seven know as Encore’ and ‘Riley’ respectively.  They received an ASH Embroidered Trophy Rug.

International Animal Health sponsored Champion All Round Horse, presented by Ian Laurie went to James & Steven Clarke’s ‘Riley’.  2nd ‘Idle Eyes’, 3rd ‘Encore’ owned by Glen & Chloe Coleman. 4th  went to Zac Jacksons ‘Denny’s Acres’ and 5th place went to ‘Statesman’ owned by Steven Clarke and in 6th place was ‘CK Peppioco’ owned by Scott Gardiner.

The Australian Quarter Horse Association sponsored the Highest AQHA registered All Round Horse with an Embroidered Trophy Rug presented to Zac Jackson’s ‘Denny’s Acres’.

Landmark Champion Rookie Horse Awards were presented by Mark Barton, 1st place went to ‘Diamond Deal’ owned by Gary McGrath and ridden by Ian Laurie, 2nd Peter & Karen Hancock’s ‘Primmy’, 3rd Scott Bandy’s Four X Gold’, 4th Ian Laurie’s ‘Memory’, 5th David Murphy’s ‘Mobile Fashion’ and in 6th place was Scott Bandy’s ‘Rooster’.

Members and Guests then enjoyed their Main Meals before proceeding with the Presentations of the Champion Rider Awards.
 First up was the Sulky Gully Saddlery Champion Encouragement Rider, presented by Ian Burnett, 1st place went to Karen Hancock, 2nd Ross Coburn, 3rd Paul Steenhuis, 4th Bonni Brooks, 5th Brad Caldwell and 6th went to Renee Franklin.

Sponsor James Edgar presented the MOR Accountants Champion Junior Rider awards; 1st Jason Parker, Runner-up Jack Ventry, 3rd Amy Clarke, 4th Bailey O’Dell, 5th Dan French and in 6th place was Carlie French...

HD Smart Jewellers Champion Juvenile Rider awards were presented by Nellie Coleman to; 1st Jack Sutherland, Runner-up was Hayley Clarke, 3rd went to Kate Reiter, 4th Abby Kettner and in equal 5th were Harry Egan and Joel Clarke. 

Bombers Australia & Top Rail Equine Champion Lady Rider Award, were presented by Dennis Heywood to;  Champion Lady Rider Lauren RyderLauren also received the Nicole Goff Memorial Trophy.  Runner-up was Keryn Gardiner, equal 3rd were Jayne Jewell and Emma Mooney and equal 5th were Wendy Atkinson and Claire Baxter.  
Congratulations to Lauren Ryder and Zac Jackson who announced their engagement on the weekend.

CM Pastoral Company Champion Rider awards were presented by Bill Willoughby, Champion Rider went to Glen Coleman, and Runner-up to Ian Laurie, 3rd Simon Dodwell, 4th Darren Jewell, 5th Matt French and 6th went to Zac Jackson.

The President’s Award went to Jenn Corbett for her contribution over many years to Campdrafting and the SCA.

The evening was capped off by the drawing of the 2016-2017 Event Sponsors with Shanahans Livestock Transport drawing the Champion Encouragement Rider, Harold’s Boots drawing Champion Junior Rider, Sulky Gully Saddlery drawing Champion Horse, EBM Insurance drawing Champion Juvenile Rider, Willoughby Way Horsemanship drawing Champion Lady Rider, Landmark drawing Champion Rider, Prydes EasiFeed drawing Champion Novice Horse, CM Pastoral Company drawing Champion All Round Horse, Performance Liquid Feeds Champion Rookie Horse and Baileyana Embroidery drawing the Champion Maiden Horse.

We would like to sincerely thank our 2015-16 Event Sponsors; MOR Accountants, HD Smart Jewellery, Sulky Gully Saddlery, Landmark, Bombers Australia & Top Rail Equine, CM Pastoral Company, Pryde’s EasiFeed, Riverina Saddlery, International Animal Health, Shanahan’s Livestock Transport and our Trophy Sponsors Nungar Knots Merrijig, Skyline Vaquero America, Thompsons Rural Supplies Cootamundra, Diamond Wool Pads, Horseland Wagga Wagga, Baileyana Embroidery Cootamundra, Bill Willoughby, Wayne Matten Saddlery, Nug Nug Ranch Tamworth, the Australian Stock Horse Society, the Australian Quarter Horse Association and last but by no means least Des Seymour Photography.  We urge all members to support our sponsors as without them this evening would not be possible.
A big thank you to the Albury Commercial Club great catering and a first class venue their attention to detail second to none.

Thank you is also extended to our Campdraft Committees and Cattle donors without whom this fantastic Family Sport of Campdrafting would not exist.

After the formal part of the evening, all relaxed and enjoyed their Dessert and Music by Albury DJ’s, and catching up with good friends.





Competition Age Groups
Junior Competitors ARE:
8 years and under 13 years.
Juvenile Competitors ARE:
13 years and under 17 years

N.B: All Competitors under 18 years must wear Hardhats that comply with current Australian Safety Standards at all times whilst mounted. eg.3838 

championship points graphic
classifieds button
weather bureau link
SCA sponsers
  Harolds_Boots   Prydes   landmark_logo   Riverina Logo Crop